Schmidt Science Fellows Program

Princeton is among a select group of institutions invited to put forward nominees for the Schmidt Science Fellows Program. The Graduate School asks departments in the natural sciences and engineering to nominate eligible students. The Fellowships Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School then reviews and selects the final institutional nominees.

The Schmidt Science Fellows Program looks for outstanding students or recent graduates who combine scientific curiosity with extraordinary academic achievement. They must be able to demonstrate a collaborative spirit, have the ambition to make a lasting impact in science and in society, and must have a keen interest in undertaking an interdisciplinary research pivot during a postdoctoral placement in a world-leading laboratory. Interested students should discuss their eligibility with the director of graduate studies in their department.

Schmidt Science Fellows is an initiative of Schmidt Futures, delivered in partnership with the Rhodes Trust. Announced by Eric and Wendy Schmidt in 2017, Princeton is delighted to have the following winners:

Ben Winer, Molecular Biology
William (Chuck) Witt, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Evan Zhao, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Saki Takahashi, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Yogesh Goyal, Chemical and Biological Engineering