Graduate student Myefski, alumni win 2018 Best of Design awards

By Laurie Zazenski, School of Architecture

The Architects Newspaper has selected the work of Christopher Myefski, a first-year graduate student in Princeton’s School of Architecture, for a Best of Design Award. The sixth annual awards program showcases outstanding buildings, interiors and installations across 45 categories.

Myefski’s “The American Construct” won the top prize in the Unbuilt—Public category. The design is intended to increase awareness of the physical and social impact that the military has had on the American West by creating architectural experiences that immerse visitors in the environment of each location.

“It was inspiring to think creatively about transforming what society and the military left behind,” Myefski said.

Several School of Architecture alumni were also among the winners, including:

Troy Schaum and Rosalyne Shieh of SCHAUM/SHIEH, winners of the Building of the Year category and Cultural category for Transart Foundation

Adam Snow Frampton of Only If, winner of the Urban Design category for Triboro Corridor, winner of the Unbuilt—Residential category for Brooklyn Senior Affordable Housing, and honorable mention for the Interior—Hospitality category for City of Saints, Bryant Park;

Carrie Norman and Thomas Kelley of Norman Kelley, winners of the Exhibition Design category for Arakawa and Madeline Gins: Eternal Gradient

Christopher Leong of Leong Leong, honorable mention in the Exhibition Design category for Living in America: Frank Lloyd Wright, Harlem, and Modern Housing;

Jürgen Mayer of J. Mayer H., honorable mention in the Facades category for Museum Garage

Vladimir Pajkic of ZGF Architects, winner of the Interior—Workplace category for Expensify Headquarters 

Brandon Haw of Brandon Haw Architecture, winner of the Interior—Healthcare category for NYDG Integral Health & Wellness

Brandon Clifford of Matter Design, winner of the New Materials category for Cyclopean Cannibalism

Meredith Miller of T+E+A+M, honorable mention in the New Materials category for Clastic Order

Lydia Kallipoliti of ANAcycle design + writing studio, honorable mention in the Research category for After Bottles; Second Lives

Peter Pelsinski of SPAN Architecture, honorable mention in the Unbuilt— Residential category for a 150 Central Park South penthouse

Stephen Cassell, Kim Yao and Adam Yarinsky of Architecture Research Office, honorable mention in the Unbuilt—Education category for 80 Flatbush Public Schools