Fellowship awards recognize the achievement of 26 graduate students

The Graduate School is pleased to honor the 26 graduate students selected as recipients of the 2020-2021 honorific fellowships. Each spring, the dean of the Graduate School and the academic affairs deans, in consultation with the Fellowship Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School, select recipients of the honorific fellowships from nominations made by the academic departments and programs. Recipients hold the fellowships for the following academic year as they work to compete their dissertations. The honorific fellowships are named and endowed fellowships that support advanced Ph.D. students whose research shows exceptional promise. Ordinarily the dean of the Graduate School hosts a dinner each year to honor that year’s recipients of the honorific fellowship.  While the celebratory dinner was not possible this year due to Covid-19, the 2020-2021 honorific fellowship recipients are listed in full here in order to mark their outstanding achievements. The Jacobus Fellowship, given to one Ph.D. student in each of the four divisions (humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering), is the most prestigious of the honorific fellowships.

Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowships
Alexandra Middleton, Anthropology
Pranav Mundada, Electrical Engineering
Ian Ochs, Plasma Physics
Margarita Rosario, Comparative Literature

Harold W. Dodds Fellowships
Alisabeth Ayars, Philosophy
Joseph Glynias, History
RL Goldberg, English
Sebastian Klinger, German
Pascal Le Boeuf, Music
Ivan Lopez Munuera, Architecture
Ohad Reiss Sorokin, History of Science
William Whitham, History

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowships
John Anderson, Mathematics
Luke Bouma, Astrophysics
Nikita Dutta, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Sammy Floyd, Psychology
Michael Kistner, Politics
Christina Kreisch, Astrophysics
Ho Tat Lam, Physics
Nicholas Martin, Molecular Biology
Pellumb Reshidi, Economics
Daniela Urbina Julio, Sociology
Jennifer Willemsen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Nan Xue, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Wallace Memorial Fellowship in Engineering
Kurt Ristroph, Chemical and Biological Engineering
Yi Zhang, Computer Science

Please visit our awards page for a full listing of recipients for this year as well as previous years.