Health and Health Policy

Academic Year 2023 – 2024

General Information

185B Julis Romo Rabinowitz Building

Program Offerings:

  • Certificate

Director of Graduate Studies:

Graduate Program Administrator:


The Princeton School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA) offers a graduate certificate in Health and Health Policy, in collaboration with the Center for Health and Wellbeing. The certificate trains graduate students for careers in health-related areas in the public and not-for-profit sectors. The program is designed for graduate students with domestic and international health interests and provides both broad training in core topics in health and health policy as well as courses in specialized areas. All master's or doctoral students enrolled in a degree-granting program at Princeton University are eligible for the certificate. The certificate is not open to undergraduates or to students enrolled at other universities. It is not a stand-alone certificate program, and may not be completed online. The certificate does not appear on the official transcript.

Program Offerings

Program Offering: Certificate

This certificate does not appear on transcripts.

Program description

The certificate program, started in 2003-04, reflects the growing importance of health as a major public policy issue, and underscores SPIA's commitment to teaching and research in health and health policy. 

SPIA master's students and Ph.D. students from other departments can enroll in the certificate program online at The enrollment is non-binding. Ph.D. students should first discuss their plans to complete the certificate with their dissertation chairs.


Certificate students are required to complete two core courses and two approved health-related electives.

The two core courses are usually offered every year.  In years a core course is not offered, a substitute course is designated. Students may take the core courses in any sequence during their first or second years. The core courses may not be taken P/D/F if students wish to count them towards the certificate.


  • Director

    • Heather H. Howard (co-director)
    • C. Jessica E. Metcalf (co-director)
  • Associate Director

    • Gilbert D. Collins
  • Executive Committee

    • Ruha Benjamin, African American Studies
    • Amy B. Borovoy, East Asian Studies
    • Angela N. Creager, History
    • Janet M. Currie, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Noreen Goldman, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Andrea L. Graham, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • Bryan T. Grenfell, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Katja Guenther, History
    • Kate Ho, Economics
    • Heather H. Howard, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Yibin Kang, Molecular Biology
    • C. Jessica E. Metcalf, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Sanyu A. Mojola, Sociology
    • Robert K. Prud'homme, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Daniel Rubenstein, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • AJ te Velthuis, Molecular Biology
  • Associated Faculty

    • Elizabeth M. Armstrong, Schl of Public & Int'l Affairs
    • Bonnie L. Bassler, Molecular Biology
    • He Bian, History
    • João Biehl, Anthropology
    • Mark P. Brynildsen, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Elizabeth A. Davis, Anthropology
    • Andy P. Dobson, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • Thomas Fujiwara, Economics
    • Zemer Gitai, Molecular Biology
    • John T. Groves, Chemistry
    • Elizabeth Harman, Philosophy
    • Brooke A. Holmes, Classics
    • Niraj K. Jha, Electrical & Comp Engineering
    • Ilyana Kuziemko, Economics
    • Simon A. Levin, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • A. James Link, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Celeste M. Nelson, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Daniel A. Notterman, Molecular Biology
    • Alexander Ploss, Molecular Biology
    • Joshua D. Rabinowitz, Chemistry
    • Carolyn M. Rouse, Anthropology
    • Matthew J. Salganik, Sociology
    • Mohammad R. Seyedsayamdost, Chemistry
    • Eldar Shafir, Psychology
    • Peter A. Singer, Center for Human Values
    • Erik J. Sorensen, Chemistry
    • Keith A. Wailoo, History
  • Sits with Committee

    • Esther Annan
    • Angus S. Deaton
    • Kathleen Donnelly
    • Arbel Griner

For a full list of faculty members and fellows please visit the department or program website.