Student Award Winners

The dean of the Graduate School and the academic affairs deans, in consultation with the Fellowship Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School, each spring select recipients of the honorific fellowships from nominations made by the academic departments and programs.  The honorific fellowships are named and endowed fellowships that support advanced Ph.D. students whose research shows exceptional promise.  The Jacobus Fellowship, given to one Ph.D. student in each of the four divisions (humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering) is the most prestigious of the honorific fellowships.


Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowship

Sarah Carson
G6 — History
Daniel Floryan
G5 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Matthew Ritger
G5 — English

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowship

Sharon Cornelissen
G6 — Sociology
Sria Chatterjee
G6 — Art and Archaeology
Kai Gong
G5 — Civil and Environmental Engineering
Victoria Lee
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ying Liu
G5 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Steven Mello
G6 — Economics
Joel Mittleman
G6 — Sociology
Heath Pearson
G6 — Anthropology
Ezelle Sanford III
G6 — History of Science
Akash Sengupta
G5 — Mathematics
Sepehr Shahshahani
G5 — Politics
Zhenbin Yang
G5 — Physics

Wallace Memorial Fellowships in Engineering

Yatin Manerkar
G5 — Computer Science
Lianfeng Zhao
G5 — Electrical Engineering

Harold W. Dodds Fellowship

Paul Baumgardner
G6 — Politics
Ian Campbell
G5 — Philosophy
Wai Cheung-Lee
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering
Maureen DeNino
G6 — French and Italian
Matteo Ippoliti
G5 — Physics
Noah Kaplan
G6 — Music
Saki Takahashi
G5 — Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Yiqiao Zhong
G5 — Operations Research and Financial Engineering