Student Award Winners

The dean of the Graduate School and the academic affairs deans, in consultation with the Fellowship Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School, each spring select recipients of the honorific fellowships from nominations made by the academic departments and programs.  The honorific fellowships are named and endowed fellowships that support advanced Ph.D. students whose research shows exceptional promise.  The Jacobus Fellowship, given to one Ph.D. student in each of the four divisions (humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering) is the most prestigious of the honorific fellowships.


Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowship

Adam Lerner
G4 — Philosophy
Alexander Philippov
G4 — Astrophysical Sciences
Henry Shapiro
G5 — History
Neereja Sundaresan
G4 — Electrical Engineering

Myhrvold-Havranek Innovative Thinking

Grigory Tarnopolskiy
G4 — Physics

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowship

Hiba Abdel-Jaber
G2 — Civil and Environmental Engineering
Giulia Brancaccio
G4 — Economics
Cydney Dupree
G4 — Psychology
Yile Gu
G4 — Chemical and Biological Engineering
Eduardo Lerro
G4 — Comparative Literature
Sara Marcus
G4 — English
Jonathan Martin
G6 — German
Wangui Muigai
G4 — History of Science
Sneha Rath
G4 — Molecular Biology
Andrew Shaver
G2 — Woodrow Wilson School
Chen Zhao
G4 — Economics
Yang-Yang Zhou
G4 — Politics

Wallace Memorial Fellowships in Engineering

Sang Beom Kim
G4 — Chemical and Biological Engineering
Jie Feng
G4 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Jingbo Liu
G4 — Electrical Engineering
Michael Siedlik
G6 — Chemical and Biological Engineering

Harold W. Dodds Fellowship

Jesse Ault
G4 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Thomas Barrett
G4 — Philosophy
Ilya Belopolski
G4 — Physics
Tengyu Ma
G4 — Computer Science
Julia Morse
G5 — Woodrow Wilson School
Jennifer Obligacion
G4 — Chemistry
Clem Wood
G4 — Classics