Student Award Winners

The dean of the Graduate School and the academic affairs deans, in consultation with the Fellowship Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School, each spring select recipients of the honorific fellowships from nominations made by the academic departments and programs.  The honorific fellowships are named and endowed fellowships that support advanced Ph.D. students whose research shows exceptional promise.  The Jacobus Fellowship, given to one Ph.D. student in each of the four divisions (humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering) is the most prestigious of the honorific fellowships.


Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowship

Yu Deng
G4 — Mathematics
Evan Hepler-Smith
G5 — History of Science
Catherine Reilly
G5 — Comparative Literature
Kimberly Shepard
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowship

Matthew Birkhold
G6 — German
Eleanor Brush
G5 — Quantitative and Computational Biology
Gabriel Lopez-Moctezuma
G5 — Politics
Victor Mikhaylov
G5 — Physics
Jonathan Squire
G5 — Plasma Physics
Melissa Tuckman
G5 — English
Xingchen Wang
G5 — Geosciences
Liesl Yamaguchi
G5 — Comparative Literature
Adrian Young
G5 — History of Science

Wallace Memorial Fellowships in Engineering

John Cannarella
G5 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
George Khoury
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering

Harold W. Dodds Fellowship

Daniel A. Berntson
G5 — Philosophy
Catherine Evans
G5 — History of Science
Patrick Ishizuka
G5 — Sociology
Rebecca Littman
G6 — Psychology
Warren Rieutort-Louis
G5 — Electrical Engineering
Michael Sockin
G5 — Economics

Whiting Foundation Fellowships in the Humanities

Nathan Hodson
G5 — Near Eastern Studies
Takashi Miura
G5 — Religion
Roy Scranton
G5 — English
Melissa Teixeira
G5 — History
Georgina White
G5 — Classics