Student Award Winners

The dean of the Graduate School and the academic affairs deans, in consultation with the Fellowship Subcommittee of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School, each spring select recipients of the honorific fellowships from nominations made by the academic departments and programs.  The honorific fellowships are named and endowed fellowships that support advanced Ph.D. students whose research shows exceptional promise.  The Jacobus Fellowship, given to one Ph.D. student in each of the four divisions (humanities, social sciences, natural and physical sciences, and engineering) is the most prestigious of the honorific fellowships.

Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowship

Máté Bezdek
G5 — Chemstry

Sarah Carson
G6 — History

Daniel Floryan
G5 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Matthew Ritger
G5 — English

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowship

Sharon Cornelissen
G6 — Sociology

Sria Chatterjee
G6 — Art and Archaeology

Kai Gong
G5 — Civil and Environmental Engineering

Victoria Lee
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering

Ying Liu
G5 — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Steven Mello
G6 — Economics

Joel Mittleman
G6 — Sociology

Heath Pearson
G6 — Anthropology

Ezelle Sanford III
G6 — History of Science

Akash Sengupta
G5 — Mathematics

Sepehr Shahshahani
G5 — Politics

Zhenbin Yang
G5 — Physics

Wallace Memorial Fellowships in Engineering

Yatin Manerkar
G5 — Computer Science

Lianfeng Zho
G5 — Electrical Engineering

Harold W. Dodds Fellowship

Paul Baumgardner
G6 — Politics

Ian Campbell
G5 — Philosophy

Wai Cheung-Lee
G5 — Chemical and Biological Engineering

Maureen DeNino
G6 — French and Italian

Matteo Ippoliti
G5 — Physics

Noah Kaplan
G6 — Music

Saki Takahashi
G5 — Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Yiqiao Zhong
G5 — Operations Research and Financial Engineering